Fresh

Fazel on the holding of the 2021 World Cup in Russia: “WADA sanctions are working. That's that"

fazel o provedenii chm 2021 v rossii rabotayut sanktsii wada nichego ne podelaesh

IIHF President Rene Fasel said that the 2021 World Cup cannot be held in Russia.

Formerly IIHF made a decision to transfer the matches of the tournament from Minsk. 

- I understand what difficult days you have had lately. I can imagine what a headache there is now, where the hockey world championship-2021 will take place. But I will ask directly - is there at least one chance that the tournament will take place in Russia?

- No, because the sanctions of the World Anti-Doping Agency are working. Before the decision was approved by the Court of Arbitration for Sport in Lausanne, President of the FHR Vladislav Tretyak offered an option: if possible, the world championship could be hosted by St. Petersburg.

But now there are no options, because the suspension is for two years. There is nothing you can do about it.

- What options does the International Ice Hockey Federation now have? Where will the World Cup take place?

- We are considering three options. This is only Latvia. These are Latvia and Denmark. Or is it Latvia and Slovakia, - said Fazel.

Recall that in December 2020, the Court of Arbitration for Sport (CAS) upheld the decision of the World Anti-Doping Agency (WADA) to remove Russia from major international competitions for changes in the database of the Moscow Anti-Doping Laboratory. Russia will not be able to host international tournaments in the next 2 years.

The decision to postpone the 2021 World Cup matches from Minsk was made against the background of the political situation in Belarus after the presidential elections. After the victory of Alyaksandr Lukashenka was announced, protest actions were held throughout the country, which were harshly suppressed by the security forces.

Now officially: Lukashenka was left without the World Cup. We explain why and where they will play now

Показать больше

Последние новости

Back to top button

Свежее

Фазель о проведении ЧМ-2021 в России: «Работают санкции WADA. Ничего не поделаешь»

fazel o provedenii chm 2021 v rossii rabotayut sanktsii wada nichego ne podelaesh

Президент ИИХФ Рене Фазель сообщил, что ЧМ-2021 не может пройти в России.

Ранее ИИХФ приняла решение перенести матчи турнира из Минска. 

– Понимаю, какие у вас были тяжелые дни в последнее время. Представляю, какая головная боль есть сейчас, где же пройдет хоккейный чемпионат мира-2021. Но спрошу прямо – есть хотя бы один шанс, что турнир состоится в России?

– Нет, потому что работают санкции Всемирного антидопингового агентства. До того, как решение было утверждено в Спортивно-арбитражном суде Лозанны, президент ФХР Владислав Третьяк предлагал вариант: если будет возможно, чемпионат мира мог бы принять Санкт-Петербург.

Но теперь никаких вариантов нет, потому что дисквалификация на два года. С этим ничего не поделаешь.

– Какие теперь варианты есть у Международной федерации хоккея? Где же состоится чемпионат мира?

– Мы рассматриваем три варианта. Это только Латвия. Это Латвия и Дания. Или это Латвия и Словакия, – сказал Фазель.

Напомним, в декабре 2020 года Спортивный арбитражный суд (CAS) поддержал решение Всемирного антидопингового агентства (WADA) отстранить Россию от крупных международных соревнований за изменения в базе данных Московской антидопинговой лаборатории. Россия не сможет принимать у себя международные турниры в ближайшие 2 года.

Решение о переносе матчей ЧМ-2021 из Минска принималось на фоне политической ситуации в Беларуси после выборов президента. После того, как было объявлено о победе Александра Лукашенко, по всей стране прошли акции протеста, которые жестко подавлялись силовыми структурами.

Теперь официально: Лукашенко остался без ЧМ. Объясняем почему и где теперь будут играть

Показать больше

Последние новости

Вернуться к верхней кнопке